Honey Layer Cake

To test out the 8-inch square pre-cut parchment by The Smart Baker, I chose a recipe from a Chinese cookbook, Cake Classics.  The recipe originally called for a 30x40cm cake pan, but I didn’t have a pan of that size, and I also wanted to test out the pre-cut parchment.

The cake is a layer spongecake that is baked layer, by layer.  The cake I ended up with at the end of baking can’t really be considered a spongecake. :/ The texture of the cake is more of a chewy texture, than a soft/spongey texture.  I’m thinking that it may be because my layers are thicker than the layers in the recipe (since my pan was of a smaller size, but I used the same amount of batter for each layer).

Next time I try and make this again, I will half the recipe for my 8×8 pan, and most likely separate my egg yolks from my egg whites and whip my whites until firm first.

Ingredients:
100g Eggs, beaten
50g Honey
375g Canola Oil
340g Evaporated Milk
750g Eggs
375g Sugar
375g Cake Flour (I didn’t have cake flour, so I used 328g All Purpose Flour and 47g Corn Starch as the substitute)

Directions:
1. Set one of the oven racks to the middle top position, and preheat oven to 395F using the broiler option.
2. In a large bowl, combine the beaten eggs, honey, and oil, set aside.
3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, whisk remaining eggs and sugar until thick and foamy. Slowly stir in flour to just-combined.
4. In a lightly-greased or parchment-lined 12×15.75 inch pan (odd size…I think an 11×13 pan would work), pour in an eighth (~300g) of the batter and broil for 3 minutes, until the top turns golden brown. Remove pan from the oven and pour in another 300g of batter and broil for another 3 minutes. Starting with the 3rd layer, place a cookie sheet underneath the pan, so that the bottom of the cake doesn’t burn. Continue broiling layer by layer for the remaining of the batter.
5. Remove from oven and cool in pan on a wire rack.
6. Cut cake into individual rectangular pieces and serve.

Enjoy!!

Since I was testing out the pre-cut parchment, I used an 8×8 square pan, and because of this, I had plenty of batter left over after the 6th layer. So I made sponge-cupcakes!! 🙂

One thought on “Honey Layer Cake

Leave a Reply

