Product Testing – The Smart Baker’s 8×8 Pre-Cut Parchment

Product testing for The Smart Baker finally started, and the first thing I decided to make is a honey layer cake (recipe post on its way).

I used an 8×8 square pan for this recipe just so I can test out the pre-cut parchment paper of the same size.

As mentioned previously, I think this pre-cut parchment business is for lazy folks, but I really looked forward to the ones for the cake pan because it had flaps for me to easily pull the cake/bars/brownies out of the pan.

However, the one thing that I was looking forward to failed me!! After baking my cake, I used a knife to run along the sides of the cake for easy removal. I then attempted to lift the cake out solely by pulling the flaps up, but one of the flaps tore on me!! I then had to flip the pan over to get the cake out of the pan.

I’m not ready to rule out this product yet, given that this is a new recipe that I tried. It might be solely the recipe causing this product to fail. As you can see in the next picture, this recipe created quite a bit of steam, causing the parchment to soak and rip, it can happen to any parchment paper. Maybe I’ll have better luck next time, when I’m using it on something a little more dry. 🙂

If you’re intrigued by this product, head on over to the Smart Baker and purchase a pack of 24 of these 8 inch flapped cake-pan parchment papers for $5.95.

Leave a Reply

