Chocolate Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Quick Bread

I had some buttermilk left over from making snickerdoodles, and it is expiring soon, so I had to find a recipe that uses buttermilk.  I wanted to find something that can easily be shipped, since that’s basically the only way I can find enough people to eat my creations.  😛  I came across this post on a blog (that no longer seems to be maintained) by a 15 year-old girl.  I’m proud of this girl’s baking skills and photography skills.  I wish I knew how to bake/cook when I was 15!  I remember making the ONLY thing I knew how to make for my friends back then…french toast.  And my recipe was tweaked on the spot by them.  😛  When I was 18, I baked my first batch of cookies for my then-boyfriend, now-fiance.  They were these Pillsbury dough logs of Snoopy holding a heart.  I baked them for him for Valentine’s day, and I was sooo proud.  😛  Good thing my skills have evolved since then, my photography skills are still VERY elementary…gotta work on that.  😛

I didn’t eat any of this cake because I’m currently on a strict diet, but I’m being told that this is very VERY good. 🙂
Mr. Fiance thinks that this tastes the best at room temperature/slightly warm. He tried it out of the oven, at room temperature, out of the refrigerator, and reheated in the microwave after being in the refrigerator. He particularly likes the top of the loaf because it has more of a crispier texture, but overall, he loves it. 🙂

Then, dear friend Alley came over and ate 1/4 of a loaf before dinner, by just picking at loose pieces. She seems to like it too, and she took another 1/4 loaf home for breakfast the next day. 😛

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Quick Bread (such a long name!!…adapted from To Cook, or To Burn)
Ingredients:
1 1/2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
1/2 Cup Dutch-Processed Cocoa
1 Packet Starbucks VIA (I used Columbia Roast)
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/2 tsp Baking Soda
1/2 Cup Butter, softened
1 Cup Sugar
2 Eggs
1 Cup Buttermilk
3/4 Cup Chocolate Chips
Directions:
1. Grease a 9×5-in loaf pan, and preheat oven to 350F.
2. In a large bowl, combined flour, cocoa, VIA, salt, baking powder, and baking soda, set aside.
3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine butter and sugar until creamy.
4. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.
5. Once mixture is well-combined, add flour mixture and buttermilk into mixture alternating between each (I added a quarter of the flour mixture, then a quarter of the buttermilk, and repeated).
6. Fold in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips until evenly dispersed.
7. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes.  Top with remaining chocolate chips and continue baking for another 30-35 (or 50-55) minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
8. Place pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes, and cool completely before removing from pan.

Enjoy!!

I made some tweaks to this recipe by adding some Starbucks VIA (or I guess…any other instant coffee/espresso), and added additional chocolate chips. 🙂 I baked two loaves at once, and one loaf was fully done in 35 minutes, and the other one took another 15+ minutes. I’m not sure what happened, because the two loaves are the same size. I also suggest to let the cake cool inside the loaf pan before removing, because i followed the original recipe, and this happened…

This is what my dear recipients received…I bought some round labels to print these…:)

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chocolate Chip Buttermilk Quick Bread

Leave a Reply

