Sweet Melissa Sunday: Pistachio Linzer Thumbprints

sweetmelissasundays See!!…I told you I’d be baking for Sweet Melissa Sunday this week!! And I did!!!…:)

This week’s recipe was chosen Dawn of Growing Up (And Having Fun) After 40 and hosted by Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures. Thank you Dawn and Tracey for choosing and hosting this week’s recipe. The full recipe can be found on Tracey’s blog here.

This recipe can be done with either Pistachio or Hazelnuts, and I actually bought both. Right before starting, I asked Steven if he’d prefer pistachios or hazelnuts, and he said pistachios (although I would’ve preferred hazelnuts), so we used pistachios (this time).

I made two changes to the recipe…

1. Instead of using preserves/jam as the filling, I used chocolate chips. Everything is better with chocolate…:)
2. I didn’t use lemon zest (or any kind of zest) in our cookies. We just don’t like zest…:P

I refrigerated the dough for a little toooo long (4 hours) so it was a little too firm when I did the thumbprint part of the process. On some of the dough-balls, when I pressed my thumb into the ball of dough, a chunk of hard dough separated from the rest of the ball. The second and third batch was a lot easier as it started to soften.


I also didn’t have enough pistachios to roll all the dough-balls in. I think I had enough for about half of the dough. I’m thinking it’s because I didn’t chop the pistachios fine enough(?).


The balls of dough look a little like fishballs…:)

I think I would decrease (or omit) the amount of cinnamon next time. I’m not sure if I’m too fond of it. I think I like the traditional buttery thumbprints more, I still like the nuts…just not too sure about the cinnamon. After tasting both versions of with and without the exterior nuts, I think I like it without the nuts more…

All in all, this was a good recipe. I think I’ll make it again…probably with hazelnuts and without the cinnamon. 🙂

Be sure to check out the other bakers’ experience with this week’s recipe!!

3 thoughts on “Sweet Melissa Sunday: Pistachio Linzer Thumbprints

  1. I debated using chocolate and wish I had! Pistachios and chocolate go so well together. Your cookies turned out great! Can’t wait to see what you do in June!

  2. Chocolate chips would have been great! I ran out of the pistachio coating about half way through making my cookie dough balls too. I also prefer the ones without the coating as I’m not huge into nuts. Glad you could make these cookies your own!

  3. You can’t go wrong with chocolate in the center of the cookies! So glad you could bake along this week 🙂 I actually don’t like pistachios so I didn’t try these, but my family enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

