Happy Anniversary Cafe Chibita!! – HK Style Egg Tarts

Today, I celebrate my 1-year anniversary with my food blog!! It’s been interesting, Cafe Chibita. Although I haven’t been a loyal mate to you, but I came back, and that’s what matters, right?

In celebration of my 1-year anniversary, I made (it was actually a coincidence) HK Style Egg Tarts again. One of the recipes in my first food-related post is HK Style Egg Tarts. Upon Steven’s request tonight, I whipped some up! Instead of going with my old recipe, I decided to try something new. For the tart, I used the cookie dough of Jam-Filled Butter Cookies, and for the filling, I used the filling of Anjelikuh’s egg tart (with some changes). These turned out really good, except it was hard to remove the tart (unbroken) from the mold. Maybe the cookie dough needs more liquid? Hopefully, they’ll be easier to remove when cool!

HK Style Egg Tarts (Adapted from AllRecipes & Anjelikuh)
Ingredients:
Tart – Yields 18
3/4 cup Butter, Softened
1/2 cup White Sugar
2 Egg Yolks (I might increase this to 3 or 4…or I might add milk/evaporated milk to the dough)
1 3/4 cups All-Purpose Flour
Filling – Yields ~24 (I spilled 1/8-1/4 of the filling and still had more than enough for 18 tarts)
400g Milk (1 3/4 cups)…Anjelikuh listed it as 3.3 cups/825 mL…not too sure how that was calculated or maybe it was VERY THICK milk?
350g Eggs (6 large eggs + 2 egg whites…egg whites were left over from the tart)
200g Powdered Sugar
1 pinch of Salt
Directions:
Tart
1. In a medium bowl, cream together the butter, white sugar and egg yolks.
2. Roll dough into 1 inch balls and press into tart mold, using your thumb to press and shape the walls.
Filling
1. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl using a whisk (or a fork).
2. Sieve the custard through a strainer to get rid of any gooey substances. Use a skimmer to get rid of anything remaining.
Egg Tart
1. Pour the filling into the tart shells (90% -100% full).
2. Bake at 450F for 10 minutes, reduce baking temperature to 250F for another 10 minutes.
3. Turn off heat, and cool in oven with door ajar for 20 minutes. Remove from oven and EAT!

7 thoughts on “Happy Anniversary Cafe Chibita!! – HK Style Egg Tarts

    • Thanks Karen! You should definitely try these tarts! Just make sure you alter the tart recipe a bit to make it less crumbly (I was thinking of adding more liquid, but now I’m thinking maybe it needs more flour after I compared the powder/liquid ratio to my last recipe).

  1. You make me want to live nearby you so that I can drop in and enjoy your random and delicious food…

    I am still missing your egg Tarts…

      • It is impossible at this time.

        However, we have reserved a room for you guys in our new property. Can you please bring us some food when you guys come to SF? 🙂

Leave a Reply

