Sweet Melissa Sundays: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds

sweetmelissasundays I, once again, have cheated because I didn’t make this week’s Sweet Melissa Sunday recipe. This week’s recipe for Sweet Melissa Sunday is actually Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler Pie, which was chosen by Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures (the recipe can be found here). Since we’re not fans of pie, and I really don’t think we’re ready to make the leap into what looks like red celery, I decided to skip this week’s recipe and traveled back in time to June 14th, 2009 when the recipe was Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds chosen by the Sweet Melissa herself!

I’ve baked chocolate chip cookies way too many times, but have always used walnuts/pecans as the nut-of-choice. It is sooo good with toasted almonds!! I love Haagen Dazs’ Vanilla Swiss Almond Ice Cream, and I love chocolate covered almonds; I don’t know why it never occurred to me that almonds in chocolate chip cookies would work wonders!!

I’m glad that I went back before my time and baked this today!! It is the best Chocolate Chip Cookie I’ve made and had!! I can’t wait till I make more of this!!

Update: These cookies are definitely consume-same-day cookies. Once the next day rolled around, they were stale (REALLY hard and REALLY chewy).

5 thoughts on “Sweet Melissa Sundays: Chocolate Chip Cookies with Toasted Almonds

  1. Thanks for trying out the recipe and posting on it. I, too, have never tried cc cookies with almonds and now I am definitely looking into it. They look delicious!

    • Rebecca~ Yes, these are sooo good, but try and hold back from eating them straight-outta-the-oven. The almonds have a “stale” texture when still hot, but once cooled, the crunch was back!!

  2. Pingback: My Staple Chocolate Chip Cookies with Roasted Almonds « Cafe Chibita

Leave a comment