Dorie Greenspan’s My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

I mentioned in my last post that I baked two different kinds of cookies for Henry…chocolate chip cookies were the other kind. Although these also seemed to be well-liked, I didn’t really like them. I prefer softer, thicker cookies. These flattened out a lot while baking and came out almost crispy. These cookies just won the title of “Ugliest cookies EVER” from the Pecan shortbreads. I guess it didn’t help that I baked them in overly large scoops so after flattening out, they became one giant cookie. Overall, they were still good, because they were Chocolate Chip Cookies, but these will not be my go-to recipe for Chocolate Chip Cookies.

Dorie Greenspan’s My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies
From pg. 68 of Baking From My Home to Yours
Makes 45 cookies (I made 36 cookies)
Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
2 sticks (8 ounces) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
2/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 large eggs
12 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or 2 cups store-bought chocolate chips or chunks
1 cup finely chopped walnuts (optional) or pecans (optional) (I used Pecans)

Directions:
1. Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Combine the flour, salt, and baking soda in a large bowl.
3. Working with a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter on medium speed for about 1 minute, until smooth. Add the sugars and beat for another 2 minutes, until well-blended. Beat in the vanilla. Add the eggs one at a time, beating for 1 minute after each addition.
4. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the dry ingredients in 3 portions, mixing only until each addition is incorporated. On low speed, or by hand with a rubber spatula, mix in the chocolate and nuts.
5. Spoon the dough by slightly rounded tablespoonfuls onto the baking sheets, leaving about 2 inches between spoonfuls.
6. Bake the cookies for 10 to 12 minutes. Let cool on cooling racks.

3 thoughts on “Dorie Greenspan’s My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. I’m with you on that one. I never made these, mainly because I like thick, chewy choc chip cookies. My next CCC recipe to try is Sarah Phillips’ from her book Baking 9-1-1. It’s not a new book but I saw a podcast of her making them and look exactly the way I like my CCC. Check out your local library for the book.

Leave a Reply

