Sweet Melissa Sundays: Pecan Shortbread Cookies

sweetmelissasundays

The recipe for this Sweet Melissa Sunday is Pecan Shortbread Cookies chosen by Lara of The Lab.

These cookies are really easy to make…all you need is a food processor. I first used my food processor to chop up the pecans, then I poured those out and set it aside. I then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. Also, the “rolling in powdered sugar” part really didn’t work for me, so I just dusted the powdered sugar on top…
P4020638
P4020639

I tend to make bigger cookies…so instead of 3 dozens…I made 18 cookies. Each cookie is about two tablespoons. After scooping the cookies out, I rolled them into balls.
P4010610

After they came out of the oven…
P4020622
P4020623

These cookies have got to be the LEAST photogenic cookies ever. I even tried adding a filter to “soften” them…
P4020637
…still didn’t work…

These cookies kind of remind me of these Snowballs I made Christmas 2008…
Snowballs
but these Snowballs tasted better…:/ These Pecan Shortbread Cookies were, in my opinion, a little on a hard side. The snowballs I made before had a melt-in-your-mouth quality to them…mmmMMM

5 thoughts on “Sweet Melissa Sundays: Pecan Shortbread Cookies

    • Thanks Leslie!!
      Although yours don’t really look anything like mine (or anyone else’s), that’s what made it special!!! I like how you saved it!!! Good for you!!! I’d probably have panicked and cried (just kidding), but I most likely wouldn’t know what to do…:P

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t get on too well with these – mine had that melty quality but there seems to be a fair variation in results this week… Your other snowball cookies look great! R x

    • Yeah, it held its shape. :). I’m sorry yours spreaded out. I’ve had that happen to a white chip macadamia cookie before. I think it’s cause by the butter not blended well enough into the flour. That’s the only thing I can think of. The cookies I made before may have still had tiny chunks of butter, so when it melted, it turned to liquid oil and spread.

Leave a Reply

