Chocolate Pound Cake? Chocolate Moon Cake…

Bought my very first bundt cake pan couple weeks ago. And I thought…what better cake to make than Chocolate Pound Cake? So…I started my search for the perfect recipe and came across this. I read through the reviews and had a good feel about it and went ahead and made it. Being that this is my first bundt cake pan and that this is my first bundt cake, I had absolutely NO CLUE how to remove the cake from the pan (I’m used to springform pans). I tried to stick bamboo skewers on the side to “lift” it away…I tried using a paring knife to pry it away…I tried the turn-it-upside-down-and-“pound-pound”-from-the-side-method…I tried the turn-it-upside-down-and-“pound-pound”-from-the-top method…and…NOTHING!!…the cake is still securely in the pan…I was depressed…so depressed that I thought that throwing it across the room wouldn’t even release the cake. The cake would be dented but still securely in a dented pan.

But I still wanted to try it, so I used a melamine knife and cut a piece…surprisingly…it lifted (quite easily). Then, I stuck the knife where that piece originally was and lifted the cake out and onto my cake platter…SUCCESS!!

Now…it’s time to eat it. First of all…this thing was DENSE!…so dense that if dropped from 2 inches above the table…you’d hear a “THUNK”… First bite…”hmm…interesting…the exterior is like a brownie/cookie…but the interior is pasty…” Second bite…”wow…this texture is very much like a moon cake…how can this be??” Third bite…”yup…definitely a moon cake…a chocolate moon cake.”

If you decide to make this…I suggest that you chill it before you eat it. I had a slice at room temperature…and it was on the NASTY side. However, I HAD to try it chilled because so many of the reviews said that it was MUCH BETTER chilled. To my surprise…it was GOOD chilled! I probably won’t make this again in the near future (I ate most of the cake…kinda over it) but I will…someday…:)

Chocolate Pound Cake (adapted from Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups butter, softened
3 cups white sugar
5 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 packet Starbucks VIA Columbia Roast Instant Coffee dissolved in 1/4 cup hot water
1 cup sour cream
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Grease a 10 inch bundt cake pan and dust with a mixture of 1 tsp Cocoa Powder and 1 Tbsp Sugar. Mix together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Beat in the flour mixture alternately with the dissolved coffee and sour cream. Pour batter into prepared pan.
3. Bake in the preheated oven for 60 to 70 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 20 minutes, then turn out onto a wire rack and cool completely.

Leave a Reply

