Oven Roasted Chestnuts

Oven Roasted Chestnuts

Chestnuts are always easier to shell and peel when cooked. When going to 99 Ranch last weekend, Auntie saw some fresh chestnuts on sale and asked me what we can make with it. She would usually cook shelledd and peeled chestnuts in a Chinese dish, but we can buy frozen already shelled and peeled ones for that. I suggested that we roast them. Just the thought of roasted chestnuts brought me to happy-land.

I searched for a recipe when we got home and I came across this. The recipe seemed pretty easy…so I decided to go with it!

DISASTER!! I’m not sure if it was the chestnuts…the oven…the recipe…or me…

The shell came off easily, but the chestnut “skin” was STUCK!! It can be peeled off…but it’ll take you about an hour to eat 3 chestnuts.

Anyhow, I’ve provided the English version of the recipe below. Hopefully, you guys can let me know if it was me…:/

Oven Roasted Chestnuts

Ingredients:

600g Chestnuts
1 Tbsp Vegetable Oil
15g Sugar
10g Water

Directions:

1. Clean chestnut shells with warm water. Set aside to dry. Once dry, cut a slit in the shell of each chestnut (see picture – the slits open up when roasted).
2. Place chestnuts in a large bowl and add oil. Mix the chestnuts around until each one is coated with a layer of oil.
3. Place chestnuts on a cookie sheet in a single layer. Bake in a 180C/355F oven for 20-25 minutes. (Mine wasn’t quite done at 20-25 minutes, I think I baked it for a total of 45-50 minutes…and they still weren’t done).
4. Meanwhile, dissolve the sugar in the water. Remove chestnuts from oven and brush each chestnut with sugar water mixture. (I also didn’t have enough of this so i made more…and my sugar to water ratio wasn’t really 15g/10g either).
5. Place chestnuts back in the oven and bake for 5 minutes.

I found a MICROWAVE recipe for roasted chestnuts. I think I’m gonna try that out next time…;)

Leave a Reply

