Sweet Melissa Sunday: Chestnut Honey Madeleines

sweetmelissasundays
This week’s Sweet Melissa Sunday recipe is Chestnut Honey Madeleines chosen and hosted by ME! (Woohoo~~)

To tell you the truth, I don’t think I deserve to be a host nor to choose a recipe because I haven’t even been a very good MEMBER!! First, I skip 4 weeks of recipes, then I promise to participate all of June, then I got into a car accident and had to skip last week. BUT, I’m back to host this week’s SMS!! :)

I chose this week’s recipe because we love madeleines. In fact, we love it so much that I had to buy a pan couple years back, but never went around to using it…:P I was VERY excited to use my pan for the first time and to bake true madeleines for the first time (I’ve used mini cupcake pans in its place before). I really liked this recipe!! I am a true hazelnut fan, and I just love the nutty flavor of this cookie/cake!! :) I only baked 1/2 of a recipe because I only had one pan, but I’m sure I’d be baking more in the future. :D

I had a little bit of issues with the recipe:
First, I couldn’t locate chestnut honey and I thought I had some clover honey at home, but I found out right before baking that what I had at home was wildflower honey.
Second, I couldn’t locate whole hazelnuts, and could only locate chopped hazelnuts. I still ended up toasting the hazelnuts, but I may have burnt the tiny tiny pieces.
Third, after baking the madeleines for 15 minutes, they turned out a bit browner than I would’ve preferred. I’m not sure if it’s because our pan is a dark pan or if I burnt the hazelnuts (or even the butter).

Despite all the difficulties, I think they still tasted DELICIOUS!! :)

Chestnut Honey Madeleines

2/3 cup roasted hazelnuts
1 2/3 cups confectioners’ sugar, plus more for dusting
1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
13 tablespoons unsalted butter
6 large egg whites
1 tablespoon chestnut or clover (or wildflower) honey

Before you start:
Using a pastry brush, brush on soft butter and then flour two 12-cup madeleine molds. Refrigerate until ready to use.

1. In the bowl of a food processor fitted with the metal blade, grind the hazelnuts with 2/3 cup of the confectioners’ sugar, pulsing as fine as you can get it, so that it is a semicoarse flour (you should have 1/2 cup hazelnut flour).

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the hazelnut flour, all-purpose flour, and the remaining confectioners’ sugar.

3. In a small heavy-bottomed saucepan over medium heat, melt the butter until the butter solids at the bottom of the pan turn golden brown. Immediately remove from the heat and strain into a bowl to stop the cooking. Discard the solids.

4. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whip attachment, beat the egg whites until foamy. Add the flour mixture and mix until combined. Add the butter and honey and mix until combined.

5. Spoon the batter into the prepared molds, filling almost at the top. Refrigerate for 2 hours.

6. Position a rack in the top and bottom thirds of your oven. Preheat the oven to 375F.

7. Remove the filled molds from the refrigerator. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until golden brown. After removing from the oven, immediately tap the pans on your work surface to release the madeleines. Transfer to a rack to cool completely.

To serve, turn the madeleines scallop side up and dust with confectioners’ sugar. They will keep in an airtight container at room temperature for 3 days. For longer storage, refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 5 days, or freeze for up to 3 weeks. Do not uncover before defrosting.

Be sure to check out other bakers’ creations! :)

14 thoughts on “Sweet Melissa Sunday: Chestnut Honey Madeleines

  1. Thanks for hosting this week! I loved the madeleines and am planning on investing in a madeleine pan the next time I come across one. Yours look great!

  2. Thanks for hosting! Hope you’re feeling better after your car accident. Your madeleines are lovely!! You definitely weren’t the only one who had issues with the baking time. Mine were overly browned before 15 minutes too. Glad they were still tasty for you though!

    • Thanks Tracey! I feel a lot better after my accident. My madeleines are a little on the darker side. The boyfriend asked (before eating) if they were chocolate flavored. :P
      However, they’re still yummy!! Can’t wait to bake them again for lesser time! :D

  3. these were delicious!! thank you for the lovely pick!!!

    and i don’t think you should sweat missing some weeks, life happens and everyone understands! i hope you feel loads better after your accident, i’m sure the madeleines helped ;)

    • I totally agree that these were delicious!! Thanks for baking along this week. I feel a lot better after my accident!! Thank you, and yes the madeleines helped, and so did the baking. :D

  4. You do so deserve to host! Your madeleines look great! I think lots of us had the same experience with them baking much faster than the recipe said. I was glad I checked mine at 15 minutes or they would have been little charred bits.

    Thanks for hosting this week and congrats on using your madeleine pan for the first time.

    • Leslie, thank you, I’m so glad I got to host and that I’m still a member. :P

      No…YOUR madeleines look great!!!…seeing your pictures (again) just now made me hungry…:P

      Thank you for baking along this week! :)

  5. Thanks for hosting this week. It was my first time making Madeleines and it was a big hit (even though I didn’t have a Madeleine pan).
    Wishing you a speedy recovery!! Feel better!!

    • Hanaa~ Thank you so much for baking along this week. I love your sunflower-ish molds…fancy!! :D I wish I have a speedy recovery too, can’t wait until my back is no longer sore. >_<

  6. So glad you picked this recipe- it was a great one.

    Funny how many people (including you and me!) had clover honey at home. Don’t even know where to begin looking for chestnut honey…

  7. Thanks for hosting this week! Your madeleines look beautiful. Mine turned out way browner than I’d hoped, but they still tasted pretty good. These were fun to make.

Leave a Reply

